Back
Featured image of post FloruitShow: Deliver Me | 福禄寿:超度我

FloruitShow: Deliver Me | 福禄寿:超度我

Recording with subtitle (cc) | 视频同步双语字幕


歌词双语对照 | Translation

超度我 | Deliver Me

A song by 福禄寿 | FloruitShow

来不及
最后一句想你来不及让你知道
再也回不去
那个有彩虹出现的下午
再也感受不到你温度
如果你留我在梦里
我会放弃呼吸

超度我

Too late
to tell you one last time that I miss you
No way back
to that rainbow-lit afternoon
Never again will I feel your warmth
If you let me linger in your dreams
I will give up breathing
Please
deliver me

若以色见我
以音声求我
是人行邪道
不 不能见如来
一切有为法
如梦幻泡影
如露亦如电
应做如是观

非空非有 亦空亦有
不生法相 无所住
非空非有 亦空亦有
不生法相 无所住

Those who see me in form
or seek me through sound
are on a mistaken path
They do not see the Tathagata
All conditioned phenomena
are like a dream, an illusion, a bubble, a shadow
like dew or a flash of lightning
Thus we shall perceive them

Neither emptiness nor existence
both emptiness and existence
Without attachment to attributes of any dharma
abide in nothing whatsoever
Neither emptiness nor existence
both emptiness and existence
Without attachment to attributes of any dharma
abide in nothing whatsoever

对不起
不经意就在你的影子里活下去
我不在意
不过是白日梦里一瞬息
为何还起念动心
怪你名字太熟悉
当我是一花一叶一春木
可否回到世界之初

超度我

So sorry
that I lived on in your shadows unintentionally
I don’t mind
it’s but a fleeting moment in a daydream
Still my thoughts arise, tempted by
your name, ringing a distant bell
When I’m a flower, a leaf, a tree in the spring
can I return to the birth of the world
Please
deliver me

若以色见我
以音声求我
是人行邪道
不 不能见如来
一切有为法
如梦幻泡影
如露亦如电
应做如是观

非空非有 亦空亦有
不生法相 无所住
非空非有 亦空亦有
不生法相 无所住

Those who see me in form
or seek me through sound
are on a mistaken path
They do not see the Tathagata
All conditioned phenomena
are like a dream, an illusion, a bubble, a shadow
like dew or a flash of lightning
Thus we shall perceive them

Neither emptiness nor existence
both emptiness and existence
Without attachment to attributes of any dharma
abide in nothing whatsoever
Neither emptiness nor existence
both emptiness and existence
Without attachment to attributes of any dharma
abide in nothing whatsoever


Misc

Translator’s note

This song is where project Pons Linguae (Bridge of Language) started: I heard this song and was immediately floored by its beauty and seamless integration of Buddist philosophy into contemporary music. So I decided that such perfection must get a translated version that does it justice :)

Fans of FloruitShow praise their music as cyber Bodhisattva, delivering souls online. My favorite line in the lyrics is but a fleeting moment in a daydream / Still my thoughts arise, tempted by / your name, ringing a distant bell. It’s a delight to translate despite (or maybe because of) how difficult it was to convey both the Buddist concept of 起心动念 and the original rhythm.

The paragraphs repeated twice are from the Diamond Sūtra (Sanskrit: Vajracchedikā Prajñāpāramitā Sūtra). The translation of this excerpt is directly taken from the version here, due to its popularity.

All rights belong to Floruit Show. If you like this song, please follow and support them on their youtube channel.

All suggestions and discussions are welcome!

译后记

这首歌是 Pons Linguae (语言之桥) 项目的起点,也是我的福禄寿入坑作。听到佛教经文在现代音乐中被唱出的一刻,我就被「赛博菩萨 在线超度」完全折服,决心要把这首作品翻译给英文世界的听众(笑)。

翻译过程中最喜欢的一句是「不过是白日梦里一瞬息 / 为何还起念动心 / 怪你名字太熟悉 / 当我是一花一叶一春木 / 可否回到世界之初」,这才恍然惊觉中文是如何与佛教彼此融合联结。

金刚经部分本想自行翻译,但还是直接引用了比较流行的中台山版本

如果喜欢福禄寿的音乐,请关注她们的官方账号

欢迎讨论和建议!


References

Image source: my photo of a windy night at the seashore, on the brink of a thunderstorm

题图:雷暴前夕的海边夜景,风雨欲来

comments powered by Disqus
Built with Hugo
Theme Stack designed by Jimmy
© Licensed Under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0